Interim reports

Education Learning Log

Burns Supper

We’re always sneaky and wait for a week to have our Burns supper. It means the children have more time to learn their poem and it also means its easier to find a piper!

So this afternoon we had our Scots poetry recitation competition, a bit of haggis, accordian playing etc. It was a good way to spend a Friday afternoon. I did feel a bit teary though when the P1 teacher said, mid way through “Skyscraper Wean” clapping and singing by the children:

“You’ll miss all this.”

She’s dead right!

Next week is my last week as HT, next Friday I leave to take up my QIO post in Rutherglen/Cambuslang. I have still got mixed feelings about this. I am glad though that I’m not moving to be HT in another school, I think I would have found that even harder as where I am is just too special to me.

Our janny was very dapper this afternoon. Yesterday morning he was called away, so I did the gate wrapped up in a janny jacket with hood up. I was asked by several children later, and a support assistant why Mr McQueen was wearing a skirt at the gate in the morning… It was me honest! Today however he did wear his kilt and did a wee twirl for the children at our Burns Supper.

February 1, 2008 - Posted by | Scots

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

