Interim reports

Education Learning Log

Diabetes

I normally don’t write anything about personal circumstances, but felt the need to write a few words tonight. Yesterday type 1 diabetes took its toll on my husband who passed away after fighting hard to survive over the past few weeks, in intensive care with pneumonia. Diabetes is much misunderstood and sometimes many don’t realise the increasing difficulties it causes as you live with it over time. Fraser was 42 and had been becoming increasingly poorly over the past ten  to 15 years and over the past 4 – 5 years  became house bound most of the time, due to autonomic neuropathy caused by the effects of the diabetes – “bad luck” was the Dr’s diagnosis, the diabetic consultant used to say he was a clinic all to himself. Depression is also a natural part of living with continuous pain and made life unbearable at times for Fraser. A quality of life is something many of us take for granted, for Fraser it seeped away. I know he will be peaceful now, but its hard to be ok when your best friend is no longer around.

October 14, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. So, so sorry to read this. I can’t begin to imagine how you must – be feeling at the moment.

    You are in my thoughts…

    Comment by mimanifesto | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am very sorry to hear of your loss. I admire your strength in your writing about Fraser’s struggle with diabetes. Take care.

    Alan

    Comment by Alan Stewart | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. Andrea, I was so sorry to hear your news yesterday at school. Although I’ll be in Edinburgh at the time of the funeral, know that my thoughts and sincere sympathies are with you and your family at this time.

    Comment by Debs | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Andrea, sorry I couldn’t make Fraser’s funeral. As Kevin told you I hope I was stranded in Orkney. Love to you and the boys. Con

    Comment by Con Morris | November 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

