Interim reports

Education Learning Log

The best feeling!

The best thing about being a QIO is not much different to working in a school. Its that feeling you get when you see someone (whether a child a parent or member of staff) really developing their skills. A lot of my job is to do with supporting establishments – nurseries, primaries, secondary – in their whole improvement agenda. Part of this involves all the  ongoing work towards preparing for HMIe. As far as I’m concerned thats just part of the whole self evaluation, improvement agenda within an establishment.This should be work that is done all the time, not in the three weeks after the box appears… Over the past session I’ve seen some fantastic examples of how, fully engaging with HMIe, really leads to  sustainable improvement within establishments. The other day I had the delight of listening to the dialogue session at the end of a follow through report. The pleasure of seeing the pride of the establishment in the focused work they had undertaken, the increase in real concerted talk about learning, the teamwork that had blossomed was something special. So I’m taking a stance, I’ve seen too many positives come out of HMIe visits. Its maybe time some serious myth busting was done about HMIe. Like so many things we listen too much to the negatives about the process. I think part of that negative bit is the natural process of learning after a visit, but sometimes thats the only bit we listen to. Like principle 1 of CfE that time can be pretty challenging, it can make people feel low etc but just like that challenge and enjoyment bit, the challenge of planning, improving, developing can give a huge feeling of achievement once the real journey to improvement gets underway and the buzz of what I saw the other day was probably one of the best experiences I’ve ever had at work.

 

November 12, 2009 - Posted by | education |

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Andrea

    The ‘best feeling’ you felt was our ‘best feeling’ at Glenburgh too (I take it you were speaking about us).

    I know I also speak for Karen and all the staff when I say we are so grateful for how you have guided us through the past year. You kept us focused, and most importantly, you kept us motivated. I am so pleased you came on the first part (the important part) of our journey with us, and can share in our happiness at this time.

    Have a great weekend, I know there are many other people who will enjoy theirs!!

    Tracy x

    Comment by Tracy McCabe | November 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. I couldn’t possibly say which establishment I was commenting on!But your comments are very kind. Enjoy your weekend.

    Comment by andreareid | November 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

